Inclement Weather

First Environments has its own inclement weather policy and makes decisions on whether the Center will operate during inclement weather separate from NIEHS, EPA, and the local county school systems. The Director and Parent Board President takes into consideration several factors including the EPA campus operational status, road conditions according to the NC DOT, weather conditions, travel advisories, and local school & business openings/closings/delays. Consideration must also be given for maintaining appropriate staff to child ratios for each classroom. Ultimately, the safety of all families and staff is the top priority.

If the Center will be closed or have a delayed opening due to inclement weather, information will be available on this website, the First Environments inclement weather hotline (919) 541-KIDZ (5439), and our Facebook page. FEELC will also send an email to all parents in our group email list.

NOTE: If First Environments has a delayed opening after 9:00 AM, no breakfast will be served. Please be sure to provide breakfast to your child(ren) on those days.

 

INCLEMENT WEATHER UPDATES:

  • FRIDAY, APRIL 19, 2019: First Environments will be CLOSING EARLY AT 2:00 PM due to the high risk for severe weather. Lunch will be served. Please plan to arrive to pick your child(ren) up by 2:00 PM. Thank you.

Holiday & Break Schedule

FEELC is CLOSED on all Federal holidays as well as the day after Thanksgiving and the business day before the Christmas holiday. First Environments is also CLOSED for a teacher training day once a year. 

2019 FEDERAL Holiday & BREAK Schedule

Tuesday, January 1 - New Year’s Day

Monday, January 21 - Birthday of Martin Luther King, Jr.

Monday, February 18* - Washington’s Birthday

Monday, May 27 - Memorial Day

Thursday, July 4 - Independence Day

Monday, September 2 - Labor Day

Friday, October 4 - Teacher Training Day

Monday, October 14 - Columbus Day

Monday, November 11 - Veterans Day

Thursday, November 28 - Thanksgiving Day

Friday, November 29 - Fall Break (Day After Thanksgiving)

Tuesday, December 24 - Winter Break (Day Before Christmas Holiday)

Wednesday, December 25 - Christmas Day

* This holiday is designated as "Washington’s Birthday" in section 6103(a) of title 5 of the United States Code, which is the law that specifies holidays for Federal employees. Though other institutions such as state and local governments and private businesses may use other names, it is our policy to always refer to holidays by the names designated in the law.

 

Last updated: 1/14/2019